Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Book CoverGwen’s review of Indulgence in Death by  J.D. Robb
Futuristic thriller hardcover released by Putnam Adult 2 Nov 10

By now, more than 20 books into the series, fans are pretty familiar with the characters. So it’s time to explore new territory in this modern New York City and its favorite cop.  Well, no.  Actually this book explores no new territory.  Read on to see what I thought…

Robb/Roberts is undoubtedly an excellent writer. This is a terrific book – a very good thriller with some very tense moments.  I think it gives a more in depth look into Eve Dallas as an investigator than any of the previous books.  As per usual Roarke plays a hot, Irish second fiddle to his wife, Eve. All is well with the world and Eve gets her man.

And. Well.  That’s all I could think of to say.  No new ground is broken in this book.  It’s just good reading.

If you’re an Eve Dallas fan, you’ll like it.  If you’ve not read any of the In Death books before this one it may not give you much insight into the characters, but it is a good thriller and you don’t need to have read any of the previous to enjoy the writing.

I really don’t mean to damn with faint praise. I do so very much enjoy the In Death books and want to have Roarke’s babies (though I think Eve and Roarke are getting closer to doing that themselves). It’s just that that’s all there really is to say about the book.

Gwens IconGrade: A

Read other reviews and information for this series here.


First it was a limo driver shot through the neck with a crossbow. Then it was a high-priced escort found stabbed through the heart with a bayonet.

Random hits, thrill kills, murderers with a taste for the finer things in life-and death-are making NYPSD Lieutenant Eve Dallas angry. And an angry Eve can be just as an efficient and dangerous predator as the killer.

As time runs out on another innocent victim’s life, Eve’s investigation will take her into the rarefied circle that her husband, Roarke, travels in-and into the perverted heart of madness…

Read an excerpt here.

Other books in the series:

Naked in Death, Jul 1995
Glory in Death, Dec 1995
Immortal in Death, Jul 1996
Rapture in Death, Oct 1996
Ceremony in Death, May 1997
Vengeance in Death, Oct 1997
Holiday in Death, Jun 1998
“Midnight in Death,” Silent Night, Nov 1998 (anthology)
Conspiracy in Death, Apr 1999
Loyalty in Death, Oct 1999
Witness in Death, Mar 2000
Judgment in Death, Sep 2000
Betrayal in Death, Mar 2001
“Interlude in Death,” Out of This World, Aug 2001 (anthology)
Seduction in Death, Sep 2001
Reunion in Death, Mar 2002
Purity in Death, Sep 2002
Portrait in Death, Mar 2003
Imitation in Death, Sep 2003
Divided in Death, Jan 2004
Remember When, May 2004 (novella)
Visions in Death, Aug 2004
Survivor in Death, Feb 2005
Origin in Death, Jul 2005
Memory in Death, Jan 2006
“Haunted in Death,” Bump in the Night, Apr 2006 (anthology)
Born in Death, Nov 2006
Innocent in Death, Feb 2007
Creation in Death, Nov 2007
“Eternity in Death,” Dead of Night, Nov 2007 (anthology)
Strangers in Death, Feb 2008
Salvation in Death, Nov 2008
“Ritual in Death,” Suite 606, Nov 2008 (anthology)
Promises in Death, Feb 2009
Kindred in Death, Nov 2009
“Missing in Death,” The Lost, Dec 2009 (anthology)
Fantasy in Death, Feb 2010
Big Jack, Mar 2010 (novella)