Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Book CoverVeena’s review of Celebrity in Death (In Death Series, Book 34) by J.D. Robb
Futuristic Romance published by Putnam Adult 21 Feb 12

J.D. Robb is the nom de plume under which Nora Roberts writes her futuristic mystery thrillers.  Celebrity in Death is the 34th book in a series that started in 2005 with two books being published every year.  In this book the author delves into the dark underbelly of jealousy and insecurity that lurks behind Hollywood’s glamorous facade. J.D. Robb manages to keep murder fresh by introducing new and creative ways of death and the persons who deliver it in her series.

In 2006, Lt. Eve Dallas solved the Icove Murders in Origin in Death. The bestselling novel of this case has now been adapted for the big screen,  and there is a celebrity bash to celebrate, with all the actors and key members of Eve’s team invited. While everyone watches a screening of all the funny moments on set and during filming, K.T. Harrison, the actress who plays Delia Peabody, Eve’s right-hand person, is found drowned in a lap pool on the rooftop of the glamorous mansion. As Eve, assisted by Roarke, McNab, Peabody and Dr. Mira, transforms into her cop persona, she finds it no surprise that potentially any and all attendees at the dinner could have a motive to kill.

As Eve works the case, the police commissioner sends his PR person to help Eve and Peabody prepare for the media and handling the press conferences.  While you get to have a quick visit (almost a shout-out) with all the usual members of Eve’s team and friends from previous books, there is not the same level of interaction and teamwork as some of those other novels.

The key focus  is on Eve and Roarke’s relationship.  As their relationship strengthens and grows, so does Eve’s comfort  with the world of Roarke and being able to leverage the benefits of money and privilege without guilt.  There is a low body count, there is no sudden excitement and edge-of-the-seat suspense. It’s good old-fashioned police work and reading between the lines and crossing the Ts and dotting the Is that solves the case.  It’s a great link in the ongoing world of Eve and Roarke, but perhaps not so much as an exciting mystery thriller.

Grade: A


Lieutenant Eve Dallas is no party girl, but she’s managing to have a reasonably good time at the celebrity-packed bash celebrating The Icove Agenda, a film based on one of her famous cases. It’s a little spooky seeing the actress playing her, who looks almost like her long-lost twin. Not as unsettling, though, as seeing the actress who plays Peabody drowned in the lap pool on the roof of the director’s luxury building. Now she’s at the center of a crime scene-and Eve is more than ready to get out of her high heels and strap on her holster and step into the role she was born to play: cop.

Read an excerpt.

Other books in this series:

Naked in Death, Jul 1995
Glory in Death, Dec 1995
Immortal in Death, Jul 1996
Rapture in Death, Oct 1996
Ceremony in Death, May 1997
Vengeance in Death, Oct 1997
Holiday in Death, Jun 1998
“Midnight in Death,” Silent Night, Nov 1998 (anthology)
Conspiracy in Death, Apr 1999
Loyalty in Death, Oct 1999
Witness in Death, Mar 2000
Judgment in Death, Sep 2000
Betrayal in Death, Mar 2001
“Interlude in Death,” Out of This World, Aug 2001 (anthology)
Seduction in Death, Sep 2001
Reunion in Death, Mar 2002
Purity in Death, Sep 2002
Portrait in Death, Mar 2003
Imitation in Death, Sep 2003
Divided in Death, Jan 2004
Remember When, May 2004 (novella)
Visions in Death, Aug 2004
Survivor in Death, Feb 2005
Origin in Death, Jul 2005
Memory in Death, Jan 2006
“Haunted in Death,” Bump in the Night, Apr 2006 (anthology)
Born in Death, Nov 2006
Innocent in Death, Feb 2007
Creation in Death, Nov 2007
“Eternity in Death,” Dead of Night, Nov 2007 (anthology)
Strangers in Death, Feb 2008
Salvation in Death, Nov 2008
“Ritual in Death,” Suite 606, Nov 2008 (anthology)
Promises in Death, Feb 2009
Kindred in Death, Nov 2009
“Missing in Death,” The Lost, Dec 2009 (anthology)
Fantasy in Death, Feb 2010
Big Jack, Mar 2010 (novella)
“Possession in Death,” The Other Side, Nov 2010 (anthology)
Indulgence in Death, Mar 2011
Time of Death, Jun 2011 (novella)
Treachery in Death, Jul 2011
New York to Dallas, Sep 2011
“Chaos in Death,” The Unquiet, Sep 2011 (anthology)